HOUR 11 – Emergency Room Visit Part 2

I left off that paper work had been filled out by me for Hospital M. I was waiting on transporting information.

Come to find out that Hospital M had additional questions about Keri.  Once the answers had been recieved by the Doctor at this hospital – they refused to admit her.

The mental health administrator at the ER said that said Hospital M felt that Keri was not a good fit. Also that Hospital T (a different hospital which Keri had stayed at with her first hospitalization) had no beds available. Hospital K and other programs refused to take her. Why? I will get to that in a moment. 

This administratior wants her to see their child psychiatrist, fo a med change and send her home. WTF!!!?!? SEND KERI HOME???

Not at this moment in time when she is a danger to herself and to others. I will camp out here all week until something can be found for her if I have too.

So some of the programs refused her based on age and medical conditions (autism, adhd, bipolar, and mild intellectual disability). So who do I hold accountable if when discharged Keri goes completely of the deep end and tries to kill herself, majorly hurts herself, or someone else… since I cannot get help for her? And with this you may wonder why some parents go off the deep end along with their kids and make the news – this might be the reason why!!!

But let me contiune from the point of refusal from last night … John and Maggie were here with me last night. Since, Keri and I had no other option, we stayed the night at the hospital. John and Maggie left since Keri was asleep and there was nothing to be done at that time.

I tried to fall asleep with 2 chairs pushed together and sitting up using a pillow against the wall for my head. I could not get comfortable not fall alseep. I also had a serious case of numb butt. A kind nurse brought a gurney in for me to sleep on. Not super comfy, but better then the chairs. I was able to get 4 hours of sleep.

I woke up at 7am. Keri was awake and ok for 5 mins. She then started to act up and climb the bed and get out of the bed. She started to smack on the computer in the room. I had to call the nurse’s station for help. Keri kept breaking away from my grip. In came 3 security guards to hold her down for at least 10 – 20 mins. Keri then got the “mega meds” to calm her –  a shot right to her arm.

It basically made her like a little drunk person. Keri had her morning meds minus the abilify. She slept for a little and woke up about 10:30am. She finally got her pill at 11 am about 4 hours after getting her first meds

Between 8 am and 10 am, I was on the phone calling her primary psychiatrist, her case manager for CMO. I was leaving messaves and trying to get
human or a supervisor that could help.

I will continue this in a new post … part 3. We have now been here for over 24 hours. And many more hours to go. Many days more perhaps…

Leave a Reply

